1006 Milstead Ave.NE: A 1905 bungalow home
This Georgian bungalow is owned by Steve and Don Blackmon, the children of Fred and Ciciela "Cic" Blackmon. This charming bungalow has two large bedrooms, two baths and a large eat-in kitchen. There is a formal dining and living room, and there are steps to an expanded attic. The home's historical features include wide long hallways, stained glass windows, pocket sliding doors and transom windows. There is an old smokehouse at the rear of the house that has been converted to a unique storage shed, along with a detached garage.
The home was built for Arthur Langford in 1905. Arthur J. Langford, and his brother, Clyde lived next door to each other in the "Twin Houses." Their father had the twin houses (996 and 1006), built for the two boys.
Arthur sold the house in 1914 to C.M. Swords and moved to Atlanta. Next in succession was John Thomas Arthur McCollum. Then in 1949, the property was transferred to Ester McCollum, the daughter of John Thomas Arthur McCollum. Ester lived there until her death in 1982. Ester left the property to her niece Helen Archer. One month after receiving the property Ms. Archer sold the property to Fred and Ciciela Blackmon.
The Blackmons lived in the house for a short time before moving to Underwood Road. They moved Cic's mother, Mae Downs, to the house where she lived until her death. Lawrence and Martha Ann Arrington then moved into the house for about five years, after which the Blackmons returned to the property and lived there until their deaths.
In the eighties there still remained on the property a chicken pen and coop, along with the original outhouse. The story goes that the old outhouse was removed and taken to the Agarma Exhibit in Tifton, where it is believed to still remain.